Using Zapier To Maximize Productivity— Week 1

Christopher Ragland
3 min readDec 12, 2020
Photo by airfocus on Unsplash

Welcome! You have stumbled across a puzzle piece that fits with the project I am completing this month. I am showcasing how your team and business can use Zapier to maximize productivity and efficiency. If you are interested in putting more pieces of the puzzle together, then feel free to find them here!

Have you ever looked at a monstrous hill or mountain and thought to yourself, ‘How do I even get started?’ That was my thought this week. I am embarking on one of the most exciting months of my life, and potentially the most challenging. I am going to be challenged mentally, emotionally, and even physically.

For the next three weeks, I will be demonstrating how ten different Zaps can help businesses/people maximize productivity and efficiency. Zapier provides automation workflow so that web applications can integrate. The automation workflow between the different applications is called a Zap.

The following are the tasks that I have completed this first week:

  • Created two videos showcasing how two different Zaps can help businesses have important events and tasks added to an online to-do list.
  • Organized project management system for the month on Trello.
  • Created a project outline. You can check that out here.
  • Created a landing page for the project. You can check that out here.
  • I shared my progress on LinkedIn. You can check that out here.

Getting Started

It all started on December 1st with project planning. I had a few questions to answer in my mind, and I just couldn’t muster anything. I sat and stared at a blank word document.

I am extremely thankful for community. If you are not involved in any sort of community, then you need to be. I would argue that being vulnerable and asking for help is a superpower. Would you rather have an employee that confesses to challenges and asks for help or one that lets problems build up and boil over?

I was struggling with project planning for a few days, and my program advisor helped to dig an idea out of my mind. What I am trying to infer here is that you are not meant to climb that mountain, whatever it may be, alone. I needed a push, and that is what I got. What has happened up to this point would not have happened if I did not ask for help along the way.

A major theme I am carrying through this project is that the rate of change in the business world is increasing exponentially, and you have to be able to adapt and keep up to survive. If you let Zapier automate work for you in the background, then you won’t have to worry about missing any important events, or miss important tasks.

What’s Next

I will be writing three blog posts total to accompany the videos. I will be writing a blog post to summarize the first five videos that are tailored to businesses, and another blog post to summarize the second five videos that are tailored towards individuals. The third blog post will be a summarization of the project altogether.

This next week I plan to complete 3–4 more videos and have the first blog post completed. Stay tuned for week 2!

--

--